The purpose of the Historical Monument Restoration Fund is to secure funding for the restoration and preservation of old monuments in the Richmond Cemetery.  

Richmond Cemetery is home to a large and unique collection of monuments, many of which are more than 150 years old.  Additionally, the property includes a variety of historic structures, such as the Public Vault erected in 1900, the stone wall and iron fence bordering the rear entrance on Summit Street, and the pre-Civil War iron fence running along Main Street. 

The resources provided through donations to this fund will allow cemetery management to assist families in restoring the oldest and most unstable monuments.  The cemetery is now accepting tax deductible donations.

Donations may be sent to the Cemetery office at 606 E. Main Street, Richmond, KY 40475 or delivered to the office during regular business hours.  Checks and money orders should be made out to “Richmond Cemetery” with HMRF (Historical Monument Restoration Fund) in the memo line.  Receipts for tax deductions are available upon request.

The first restoration (the Captain James Estill monument) has been completed.  More information about James Estill is available here.  See monument photos here.